CMT Announces Next Women of Country 2016

CMT has released the list of its 2016 Next Women of Country franchise—a campaign to bring awareness to inspiring female vocalists in country music.

The acts selected by CMT for the Class of 2016 include Caitlyn Smith, Jamie Lynn Spears, Jillian Jacqueline, Kree Harrison, Logan Brill, Lucie Silvas, Maggie Rose, Margo Price and—for the first time—two all female trios, Runaway June and Post Monroe.

“We’re so thrilled to introduce this incredibly talented and diverse mix of female artists to the Next Women franchise,” said Leslie Fram, SVP of music strategy and talent at CMT. “With the full support of the industry behind us, we continue to see this initiative make a real difference in propelling female artists into the spotlight.”

CMT started the campaign in 2013, which has included such artists as Maren Morris, Kelsea Ballerini and Kacey Musgraves, and launched two female tours in 2015 and 2016 that included Jana Kramer, Kelsea Ballerini, Jennifer Nettles, Brandy Clark, Lindsay Ell and Tara Thompson.

The network has since created a digital performance series, Next Women of Country LIVE, featuring exclusive new performances each week. Congrats to all the ladies!

Next Women Class of 2016:

Caitlyn Smith
Jamie Lynn Spears
Jillian Jacqueline
Kree Harrison
Logan Brill
Lucie Silvas
Maggie Rose
Margo Price
Post Monroe
Runaway June