Brandy Clark to Release New Album, “Your Life Is a Record,” on March 6 [Listen to Lead Single]

Brandy Clark to Release New Album, “Your Life Is a Record,” on March 6 [Listen to Lead Single]

Six-time Grammy nominee Brandy Clark will drop her third studio album, Your Life Is a Record, on March 6.

The 11-song set, which was produced by Jay Joyce, features special guest appearances from Randy Newman (“Bigger Boat”) and guitarist John Osborne (“Bad Car”). Brandy released the album’s lead single, “Who You Thought I Was,” on Jan. 10.

“The seed of the song came from something that John Prine said a couple of years ago at the Americana Awards,” said Brandy. “He walked out onstage at the Ryman and everyone stood up and clapped for what felt like five minutes. When everyone sat down, he said with a little laugh, ‘Well, I’m John Prine, but I’d like to go back to being who you thought I was.’ Man . . . that hit me. The songwriter in me instantly knew it was a song and the heart in me knew it was how I had felt in my own life many times. I mean who of us hasn’t let somebody down or wanted to be the version of ourselves that someone who loved us thought we were?”

Listen to “Who You Thought I Was” below.

Listen to “I’ll Be the Sad Song” below.

Your Life Is a Record Track List

  1. “I’ll Be the Sad Song”
  2. “Long Walk”
  3. “Love is a Fire”
  4. “Pawn Shop”
  5. “Who You Thought I Was”
  6. “Apologies”
  7. “Bigger Boat” (feat. Randy Newman)
  8. “Bad Car”
  9. “Who Broke Whose Heart”
  10. “Can We Be Stranger”s
  11. “The Past is the Past”

photo by Curtis Hilbun,


Chris Janson VIP Pre-Party!

Join us Monday, August 22nd at the Western Idaho Fair for Chris Janson! Make sure you get there early because we’ll have a special Pre-Party for the first 75 people at the gate at 5pm catered by Costa Vida, plus your chance to upgrade your seats and win prizes from your favorite Kissin Country Artists!